Back To Bear Creek

What a weird morning it was. I’ve been trying to get over to San Francisco to begin a ride over the Golden Gate Bridge to Fairfax and back. It was planned 2 Sun.’s ago, and I woke up not wanting to drive to ride my bike. I still went for a 25 mile ride, but just started out of my garage. OK, so this Sun. (the one that just passed), I set the alarm for 6:30 AM, and proclaimed we were leaving at 7:30 for the bridge. Well we didn’t get out by 7:30, but we did get to San Francisco. We pulled off 101 North, the last exit before crossing the bridge looking for a parking lot I’d heard about somewhere on Lincoln, near Storey. As we exited the highway we were met by a line of red cones and police officers blocking our desired route and told all the roads were closed nearby due to the Nike Marathon. We headed back to 101 south and pulled off on a side street to figure out what we were going to do.

Well, let’s go over the bridge and start our ride from somewhere over there. Then I realized I’d forgotten the cue sheet for the ride. Now what? I suggested we head back across the Bay Bridge and go ride around San Pablo Dam, a 25 mile ride beginning and ending in Orinda. Ok off we set. If you know anything about the micro-climates in the Bay Area, you know a change of 10˚is nothing simply by changing which side of the Berkeley hills you’re on. Anyways, kind of a late start by the time we got there and hotter than we’d planned for; off we went.

We hadn’t done this ride since before the Tierra Bella, way back in March. Funny how you forget how hard certain climbs can be. We knew the first ascent up Bear Creek Rd. was tough, but it seemed harder than ever. I’ve set my GPS to show the gradient, so I was surprised when sections were reading 9%. That first climb is about 2.5 miles. There are other steep sections but shorter, so Bear Creek always seems to be the section one has to get through. I don’t know if it was the heat or not eating enough food, but by the time we hit the last 9 miles, my legs were mush. Actually, I think the last time I wrote about this ride I said the same thing!

To complete my fifth coffeneuring ride, we completed the day with a tea cooler. Yes, from another Peets!

Peet's Coffee Orinda, CA
Peet’s Coffee Orinda, CA

Not anyone I know, just random people.

peace, ks

Leave a Reply

