Up Tunnel

I’ve been on vacation for a week now. It’s so wonderful being able to plan a bunch of different rides. I have until Mon. to ride when and where I want and then I’m off to Tahoe for a few day of camping and hiking. Today I decided to go up Tunnel Rd., something that I have not attempted since last Feb. I did ride up Tunnel Rd. then, but it wasn’t easy. I believe last time I had to stop to rest and had a short patch of walking. Today I experienced neither of those events; no walking, no resting, straight to the top! Not only that, but last time I had to use my lowest gear all the way and today I only used it a couple of short periods. It’s so great to feel the difference in your efforts when you’ve been working hard.

Here’s the route; not a long ride today, 18 miles.

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 3.38.31 PM

 

The goal today was hills.

Screen Shot 2013-05-23 at 3.39.01 PMI literally have not ridden this whole route in 20 years. The road seemed to be a little more tore up than I remember. Sure was glad I was on those 32 mm Gran Bois’. And, of course, I don’t remember as much of it being uphill once on Grizzly Peak. Being a weekday there was not horrible traffic and most cars were very curteous and passed with plenty of room. Here’s looking east from Grizzly Peak.

grizzlypeakeast2

 

Looking out over the bay.

grizzlypeakbay2

 

One thought on “Up Tunnel

Leave a Reply

